Out-of-State Representatives
Timothy D. Larson

Timothy D. Larson

Executive Director



Academic Program Search

Postsecondary Career Schools

News Room

Out-Of-State Online Registration

Related Links

State Statutes & Legislative Updates


Student Transcripts

Alternate Route to Certification Alternate Route to Certification

Connecticut Commission on Community Service

Regulations of CT State Agencies
Connecticut Still Revolutionary


Registration - Out-Of-State Private Postsecondary Occupational Schools

Private Postsecondary Occupational Schools with no physical presence in the State of Connecticut may apply to the Connecticut Office of Higher Education to offer distance education programs to CT students (per CT Public Act 21-45). Registration is effective until December 31, 2021; thereafter, registration must be renewed on an annual basis.

In order to be considered, Private Postsecondary Occupational Schools must:

  • Be approved in the state where domiciled to be authorized to provide non-credit academic programs that lead to a certificate or diploma, and be in good standing;

  • Have a Federal Composite Financial Score of 1.5 or greater. Institutions with scores between 1.0-1.49 will be reviewed on an individual basis;

  • Have a student complaints webpage that refers Connecticut students to the Office of Higher Education to field out of state complaints.

  • Pay the annual, non-refundable Connecticut Out-of-State Application fee. Make checks payable to Treasurer, State of Connecticut.

The application fee is based upon the institution’s full-time enrollment (FTE) as follows:

  1. $3,000 for institutions with FTE under 1,999

  2. $6,000 for institutions with FTE 2,000 - 9,999

  3. $9,000 for institutions with FTE 10,000+

Out-of-state applications for approval can be submitted using our online form:
  • If you are paying by ACH/eCheck, please use this form: ACH/eCheck
  • If you are paying by credit card, please use this form: Credit Cards*
    (*additional 3% convenice fee will apply)
Upon receipt of the application and the relevant fee, the Executive Director of the Office of Higher Education will, if all requirements are met, issue a letter of registration to the school representative that is valid until the end of the calendar year.

450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 707, Hartford, CT  06103-1841, Phone:  860-947-1800

Home | CT.gov | Send Feedback

State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - 2015 State of Connecticut

CT.gov logo